Primavera Wit

30 Sep

Frankenstein!!!

PrimaveraWit

15 Responses to “Primavera Wit”

  1. Greg July 13, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    I love wits and have don quite a few. In my experience if your going to pepper your wit like you did with this one. I would put it in the whole 60 min boil and make sure it’s open, now hop bags for the pepper. Allow the small pepper pieces to make it all the way through cooling and into the carboy. Ferment for at least 2 weeks start it in the high 70’s and after 24 hours bring it up to 85 maybe even low 90’s. After two weeks be sure to cold crash it for 48 to 72 hrs in a fridge. Then either keg it or bring it up in temp and prime for bottleing. I did a pink peppercorn grapefruit wit that everyone loved I didn’t measure the weight of my pepper corns I used a good table spoon and crushed in the same method as you. WLP 400 is solid but in may and june they put out 410 wit yeast it’s a bit more spicy but to get that bite you have to bring the temp above 85 after 24 32 hrs. Hope this helps you. I love the fact that you do saisons too. Both these styles of beer are great. Cheers

    • zakweil July 13, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

      send me that recipe for the pink peppercorn grapefruit if you have it, sounds awesome

  2. Greg July 14, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    Pink pepper grapefruit WIT
    Gambenums wheat malt 6lbs
    Red Wheat 3.5lbs
    2 row pils 1.5lbs
    Rice hulls .75
    Tettenger pellet .75 oz 60 min boil
    Sazz .25 60 min .25 oz 60 min boil
    Saaz .50 oz at 15 end of boil
    3 grapefruit fresh zest 15 min end of boil
    Pinkpepper corn rolled out with wine bottle in ziplock bag .5 oz or a good sized table spoon 60 boil
    Coriander .5 oz or table spoon but go a bit lighter on the coriander. @ flameout
    Mash @ 152 to 148 for 1 hr sparge with 168 for an hour
    OG 1.049 FG 1.010
    Pitched WLP 400 or 410 held at 78 for first 24 – 36 hrs then brought it up to 88 – 90 for rest of fermentation. 2 -3 weeks then cold crash for 72 hr then keg or bottle. Your going to have to go to blow off from the start on this beer it’s a high krausen maker. And it’s a good ideal to make a starter for the yeast.

    Result
    Beer has a lot of head retention will follow all the way down to the bottom of the glass.
    medium to light mouth feel grapefruit right at the start followed by the citrus bite from the corriander with the pepper bite at the back of the pallet as it washes down. Great summer time beer.

    Hope you try it out and enjoy it.
    Cheers

    • zakweil July 14, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

      I was about to buy some WLP 400 on my next trip…so I think I’m going to try this out soon. Will definitely let you know what happens

      One observation – the fermentation temps seem incredibly high to me. The only yeast I ever did that hot was WLP565 and it was amazing, but all other yeast needs to be under 70 in my experience.

      What do you think if I ferment starting closer to 65 and then ramp up from there?

      • Greg July 15, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

        between 70 and 60 is what I shoot for when it comes to pitching temp. here check this web site out click on the pdf for Belgium yeasts http://www.whitelabs.com/content/technical-information. you want to know what temp does to yeast there it is all laid out for you on the white labs web site. When I found this it changed how I thought about ferment temps and how to extract the flavors from the yeast that I wanted. Phenolic and fruity is a good wit profile,for that reason I take it into the 80’s. Ok so in looking at my notes I did go a little high on the temp. 90 is pushing that yeast pretty hard but 85 give or take a degree or two is still in it’s range. Just depends on what your shooting for I guess. I would say the best advise on that recipe is the peppercorns makeing it down into the carboy they really infuse the flavor of pepper into the beer. And that grain bill, it’s solid, you’ll get good head retention with it and great color. If you want toss about .5 lbs of biscuit in there to add a bit more bread like flavor. Oh and if your looking for pink peppercorns or really fresh indian corriander world spice in Seattle they have a web site very good quality products. I’m brewing a batch of this, this week it’s a good hot day beer. let me know what you think of that chart from white labs they have it for all there yeast.

        SIde note: I love wit beers and for the past 8 months i have been reading about recipes and clones. Been through a lot of books and I have come to the conclusion that. Breweries like Allagash and Goose Island spend about a year to 2 years working on a recipe and method for there Belgium beers. In the end they have there yeast strain and the process they use for getting that flavor profile we all love from a Belgium. On more than one occasion I found info that stated they start low for a day or two then let it rise to a preset temp for the rest. the manner in which this is done gives the beer it’s distinct flavor. Finding out what those temps are well that’s the secret to making them, and they won’t give that out to anyone. Keep in touch

  3. zakweil July 16, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Awesome, thanks again! Will be brewing this in about 2 or 3 weeks then. I’ll let you know how it goes

  4. zakweil August 5, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Ok I brewed up the Pink Peppercorn Grapefruit wit yesterday, and it’s already bubbling away. Here’s what I did

    7# wheat malt (half red, half white)
    3# pilsner 2 row

    mashed for 1 hour at 153 degrees, pre boil volume about 6.5 gallons (final volume around 5 gallons)

    1# home made invert sugar
    3 TBSP pink peppercorns smashed up (60)
    2 TBSP fresh coriander seeds smashed up (15)
    zest of 3 grapefruit (15)
    1oz tett (60)
    1 oz saaz (5)

    pitched yeast = 2nd generation WLP400 yeast cake (about 2 liters)

    OG= 1.054

    I start fermenting low as a general rule, it’s about 63 degrees now, but I will boost it up to 70 and beyond by end of week

    Can’t wait to try this beer, it should be ready soon cause WLP400 usually goes real quick for me. Thanks for the recipe, I’ll let you know how it comes out

    • Greg August 6, 2013 at 1:46 am #

      Sounds great it’s going to have some real pepper bite to it! be sure after 2 weeks to cold crash it in the carboy in the fridge for at least 3 to 6 days. It helps bring the pepper bite from the front to the back. And yes wlp400 goes damn fast. Love that beer we started and finished my last batch in 5 hours my in laws love the shit out of that beer. I’m doing a Peach Honey Sasion right now I’m 4 wks into it I’ll have to tell you what I did with that and how it turned out. So far it’s looking pretty good with the 8 lbs of white peaches on it. If your interested let me know and I”ll pull out my notes and shoot you a paragraph about it. Oh and I took your advise on the lower ferment temp I might have been a bit high on that before I found the last batch I did that was around 78-84 was very solid on the flavor profile a little more yeast bite would have been nice but I think leaving it on the cake for an extra week or two might help with that. (but that is a theory I’m going to try on the next batch to see if the results are the same)

  5. zakweil August 19, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    Ok so I went from OG of 1.057 to FG of 1.002 in 2 weeks! I didn’t want it to drop so low, but oh well, I’ll have something a bit above 7% ABV

    I put the bucket into my wine cooler yesterday and its crashing now around 43 degrees – will probably only crash for 1 week because I want a bit of yeast haze…AND I can’t wait to put this in the bottle

    I tried a sample and was impressed, although it was way too dry for the style, I think the citrus and pepper will balance it out in the end. I can’t really say until it’s been carbed up for a couple weeks, but it seems like I’m on track for a killer end of summer brew.

  6. zakweil August 19, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    I see my OG was actually 1.054, not 1.057 so it will be a tad under 7%

    still a bit too high ABV, but i’m not complaining about that

    • Greg August 20, 2013 at 3:11 am #

      Man 1.002 that is damn low for that beer? how did you get it down that far. I’ve never had it go down that far. The lowest I’ve ever pulled out of it was 1.009, Did you add sugar to your wort? I’m looking forward to hearing how it turns out I’ll be keeping an eye out for an update.

  7. zakweil August 20, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    Most of my beers finish under 1.009 for some reason, regardless of the yeast. I should probably try to mash higher and see if that changes anything

    Yeah I added 1# of invert sugar which will ferment out 100% but I thought my mash temp (153) would leave some residual sweetness

    The yeast was a 3rd generation WLP400 but there was some nottingham in the original yeast pitch on the first 400 brew so that may have brought it down more…but damn…nothing to do about it now

    I will bottle up this weekend and let you know how it comes out.

    • Greg August 21, 2013 at 3:13 am #

      153 is right on for mash temp, right in the middle. I’ve got a batch right now that won’t be done for another two weeks. That’s about a week longer than I usually go I wanted to see if it added more yeast character. I’ll let you know how mine turns out.

  8. zakweil August 29, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    Ok couldn’t wait. I tried after 5 days in the bottle. Already some decent carbonation in there too!

    The grapefruit AND pepper flavors are definitely there but not at all overwhelming. Because it got so dry, it drinks more like a Saison but without the estery qualities. Very crisp and light up front, and the finish lingers around nicely, letting the fruit/pepper flavor develop more. Something strange….I thought zest of 3 grapefruit and 3 TBSP of pink peppercorns might be too much, but it’s actually quite subtle. At 6.7% I think the alcohol is masking some of the flavors, but that should mellow out in a few weeks.

    I’ll send you an update after trying again in 2 weeks.

    Did you notice it needed a long time to condition? Did you save any bottles or did your family completely finish it?

    Thanks again for the recipe – seems like it’s working out well

    • Greg August 31, 2013 at 3:55 am #

      I have not done a bottle batch yet I go straight to corning keg and force carbonate. Which means we drink it with in a week of kegging and it’s gone. But I’m curious to hear how it turns out after bottle conditioning. I would imagine it being better with time for those flavors to blend longer and who knows what the yeast will do with that added time. I thought for sure the pepper was going to be very strong but then again I’m not the most consistent brewer. I do eye ball a lot of my measurements like the pepper corns and coriander. Maybe the 3 table spoons was just right. As for the grapefruit, well after I did my initial research I found that grapefruit is very subtle. I found it to be a great sub for orange peel. There are enough orange beers out there. But that 6.7% is so much higher than I have attained. Mine always land around 5 to 5.3. Keep me in the loop. I’m looking to do a pumpkin ale here soon for the fall season if you have any ideals fire them my way I might give it a try.

Leave a Reply

