SaminCayre Spiced Apfelwein (nutmeg overload)

10 Jun

One of my best friends asked me to make a spiced Apfelwein for his wedding, which I was honored to do. We talked about all these different spice combos and settled on cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg. I had 2 cloves and 2 cinnamon sticks, which was cool…then I went crazy and shaved 3 whole nutmegs down to a fine dust, little did I know that using half of 1 nutmeg is probably too much. We tried the Apfelwein before the wedding, and it was obnoxiously nutmeg-y and not very pleasant. It wasn’t undrinkable, but I told my friend I didn’t want to serve this sub-par apfelwein at his wedding…so we’re just going to store it and drink a bottle every now and then for the next year, hoping it improves. I think plenty of people have made good spiced Apfelwein, but go easy on the spices! No rating on this recipe, it wasn’t good and I ruined it with nutmegs, let’s just leave it at that.

NutmegApfelwein

Leave a Reply

