1st Water Chemistry Experiement – Oktoberfest

22 Jun

This was the first recipe where I used brewing salts. I used 1 tsp of Gypsum + Calcium Chloride and 1/2 tsp of NaCL – and so begins my journey down the rabbit hole of water chemistry. My mash water was Cleveland tap mixed with distilled so I didn’t have a water report to base anything off of, which isn’t ideal, but I wanted to try it. The final product was good and malty like an Oktoberfest, but it wasn’t very balanced in terms of hop/malt ratio. The rating I give is 85% because it could’ve been balanced more.

1stWaterChemOktober

Leave a Reply

