Pink Peppercorn Grapefruit Wit

4 Aug

I got this recipe from a fellow brewer who saw my Primavera Wit recipe on my blog. He also does Wit beers and we started talking about techniques and recipes, which led me to try this beer. The yeast I used was a second generation WLP400 yeast cake, and there was also a little nottingham yeast from the 1st brew, which I know isn’t a smart/good mix of yeast but it’s what I had at the moment. Everything went great and my brew day was a success, but 3 weeks later, I checked the gravity and it was down to 1.002!!! I was hoping for the FG to be closet to 1.010 but it went super low and got VERY dry. The beer is definitely packed with peppercorn + grapefruit flavor but the damn gravity went too low and dried it out beyond belief…it almost tastes like a Saison, rather than a Wit, which is fine by me. The final rating will be 80% on this because I just couldn’t get over the dryness, but that’s not a fault of the recipe, it was probably my yeast hybrid which dropped it too low.

PinkPepGFwit

Leave a Reply

